Image of Academy of Arts and Sciences logo.

Stanford Report - April 19, 2012

Nine Stanford professors and a university trustee were elected this year as members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

The academy is one of the nation's most prestigious honorary societies, and also a leading center for independent policy research. Members contribute to academy publications and studies of science and technology policy, energy and global security, social policy and American institutions, the humanities and culture, and education.

In all, 220 people were newly elected to the academy this year. The new class will be inducted at a ceremony Oct. 6 at the academy's headquarters in Cambridge, Mass.

Stanford's new members are:

Ann Margaret Arvin, vice provost and dean of research, Lucile Salter Packard Professor of Pediatrics and professor of microbiology and immunology

Ben A. Barres, professor of neurobiology, developmental biology, and neurology and neurological sciences

Michael E. Bratman, Durfee Professor in the School of Humanities and Sciences, Department of Philosophy

Philip Howard Bucksbaum, Marguerite Blake Wilbur Professor in Natural Science, professor of physics and of applied physics; director, PULSE Institute for Ultrafast Energy Science

Steven Michael Kahn, Cassius Lamb Kirk Professor in the Natural Sciences, Department of Physics; Professor of Particle Physics and Astrophysics, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory

Stuart K. Kim, professor of developmental biology and of genetics

Liqun Luo, professor of biology

Penny S. Pritzker, JD/MBA '84, trustee

Jeffrey David Ullman, Stanford W. Ascherman Professor in the School of Engineering, Emeritus

Andrew G. Walder, Denise O'Leary and Kent Thiry Professor, Department of Sociology; senior fellow, Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies

A list of the 220 new members is available on the website of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.