Collage of headshot photos of 21 diverse graduate students

2024 Stanford Bio-X PhD Fellows.

June 6, 2024

Stanford Bio-X is delighted to announce the 2024 Stanford Bio-X PhD Fellows. This year's 21 exemplary awardees represent 13 different Stanford departments and programs, and they will collaborate with 42 Stanford faculty mentors to bridge disciplines and undertake groundbreaking innovative research as a part of the Stanford Bio-X community. With the addition of our 2024 cohort, the Stanford Bio-X PhD Fellowship Program has now awarded a total of 406 meritorious Stanford students, supporting their unique and transformative interdisciplinary research projects and scientific careers.

Since its inception in 2004, the Stanford Bio-X Fellowship Program has supported Stanford PhD students pursuing cutting-edge interdisciplinary research under multiple faculty mentors, offering them the freedom to pursue their passions and maximize the impact and expand the scope of their work. These remarkable young researchers receive full support (stipend and tuition) from Bio-X for three years of their graduate studies, allowing them to approach exciting research questions as they create connections within the Bio-X community and across campus.

To date, 305 Stanford Bio-X Fellows have graduated from Stanford, with alumni of the program establishing successful careers in the industry sector, founding start-up companies, holding professorships at Stanford and its peer institutions, and much more. Many of our alumni who have become Stanford faculty have now mentored Bio-X PhD Fellows in their own labs!

We are honored to welcome the 2024 Fellows to the Bio-X community, and look forward to supporting them as they expand their research careers. To learn more about the program, meet the previous cohorts, and read about the successes of our Fellows, please visit the Stanford Bio-X Fellows website.

Bio-X is grateful to our donors, including the Bowes Foundation, for their continued generous support of the program. 

Check out the Stanford Bio-X PhD Fellowship Program Brochure!


The 2024 Stanford Bio-X Fellows Cohort in alphabetical order:

Nayla Abney (Bioengineering)
Advised by: Profs. Jennifer Cochran and Mark Pegram

Isabella Archibald (Bioengineering)
Advised by: Profs. Jennifer Brophy and Xiaojing Gao

Betty Cai (Materials Science & Engineering)
Advised by: Profs. Sarah Heilshorn and Jon-Paul Pepper

Jennifer Co (Chemistry)
Advised by: Profs. Steven Banik and Michael Bassik

Matthew DeJong (Chemical Engineering)
Advised by: Profs. Polly Fordyce and Alexander Dunn

Sipei Fu (Biology)
Advised by: Profs. Jonathan Long, Christopher Barnes, and Michael Fischbach

Alisa Levin (Computer Science)
Advised by: Profs. Scott Linderman and Jaimie Henderson

Kara Liu (Computer Science)
Advised by: Profs. Russ Altman, Serena Yeung, and Sanmi Koyejo

Amrith Lotlikar (Electrical Engineering)
Advised by: Profs. Subhasish Mitra and EJ Chichilnisky

Marigold Malinao (Materials Science & Engineering)
Advised by: Profs. Guosong Hong and Jun Ding

Shaili Mathur (Biology)
Advised by: Profs. Dmitri Petrov and Jonas Cremer

Luis Mille Fragoso (Bioengineering)
Advised by: Profs. Xiaojing Gao and Brian Hie

Salvador Moncayo Von Hase (Chemistry)
Advised by: Profs. Steven Banik, Xiaojing Gao, and Tom Soh

Samantha Reyes (Biomedical Physics)
Advised by: Profs. Michelle James and Marion Buckwalter

Aubrey Roberts (Epidemiology & Clinical Research)
Advised by: Profs. Michael Snyder, Jonathan Long, and Francois Haddad

Gustavo Santiago-Reyes (Bioengineering)
Advised by: Profs. Russell Poldrack and Todd Coleman

Six Skov (Mechanical Engineering)
Advised by: Profs. Scott Delp, Karen Liu, and John Day

Jiankai Sun (Aeronautics & Astronautics)
Advised by: Profs. Mac Schwager, Scott Delp, and Mykel Kochenderfer

Kyle Swanson (Computer Science)
Advised by: Profs. James Zou and Joseph Wu

Ethan Trepka (Neurosciences)
Advised by: Profs. Tirin Moore and Guosong Hong

Maiya Yu (Structural Biology)
Advised by: Profs. Jeff Axelrod, Liang Feng, and Alexander Dunn